Broadband Advisory Board

Broadband Report Image

On October 30, 2020, Governor Jared Polis signed an Executive Order creating a Broadband Advisory Board (BAB) within the Office of Information Technology (OIT) to focus on collaboration and coordination of broadband efforts for Colorado, and to partner with the Office of the Future of Work (OFOW) to provide regular updates to the board on digital inclusion and literacy. 

For more information on the creation of the Broadband Advisory Board, please refer to the Governor’s Broadband Initiatives Report, which was also released Oct. 30, 2020.


BAB meetings take place on the third Tuesday of each month*. Public comment is available at the beginning of each meeting. If you would like to provide public comment, but are unable to attend or speak at the meeting, please email

* Note: Starting in May, 2021, the start time of meetings will shift to 11 a.m.

To submit agenda items for consideration for an upcoming meeting, please fill out the Agenda Item Comment Form.

Past Meetings

Visit the Broadband Advisory Board Meetings Playlist on YouTube to watch all recorded meetings.

March BAB Meeting – March 16, 2021 @ 9 a.m. (Virtual Only)

 Meeting Minutes | Recording
Emergency Broadband Benefit Program Presentation by Teresa Ferguson, Director of Federal Funding Engagement

CDOT Fiber Network Plan Presentation by Allie Axely, ITS Program Support Manager – CDOT

February BAB Meeting – February 16, 2021 @ 9 a.m. (Virtual Only)

 Meeting Minutes | Recording
Good News Presentation: Municipal Broadband by Valerie Dodd, Executive Director, NextLight at City of Longmont

Ute Mountain Ute Tribe (UMUT) Presentation by Bernadette Cuthair, Director of Planning and Development UMUT and Diane Kruse, Tribal Broadband Consultant, NEO Connect

Southern Ute Indian Tribe (SUIT) Presentation by Chairman Melvin J. Baker, SUIT

Office of eHealth Innovation (OeHI) Presentation by Carrie Paykoc, Director of OeHI

Connecting Colorado Students Grants Presentation by DeLilah Collins, ESEA Office Assistant Director, CDE

January BAB Meeting – January 19, 2021 @ 9 a.m. (Virtual Only)

 Meeting Minutes | Recording
Presentations (click to expand)
The Pew Charitable Trusts Presentation by Kathryn de Wit and Anna Read

Federal Stimulus Presentation by Teresa Ferguson, Colorado Broadband Office

Broadband Metrics Presentation by Megan Gernert, Colorado Broadband Office.

Thursday, December 17, 2020 @ 9 a.m. (Virtual Only)

  Meeting Minutes | Recording
Presentations (click to expand)
Digital Literacy and Inclusion Presentation by Katherine Keegan, Office of the Future of Work (OFOW)
Links Associated with Presentation:
Broadband Map Presentation by Megan Gernert, Colorado Broadband Office.

Board Members

Per the Executive Order, the Board will consist of the following state agency members:

Antonio MartinezSarah SmithColorado Broadband Office (CBO)
Betsy MarkeyJeff KraftOffice Economic Development and International Trade (OEDIT)
Rick GarciaGreg WinklerDepartment of Local Affairs (DOLA)
Patty SalazarBrian MartinDepartment of Regulatory Agencies (DORA)
Shoshana LewBob FiferColorado Department of Transportation (CDOT)
A representative from any other agency or organization that has relevant projects and initiatives focused on broadband activities within the State, as appointed by the Executive Director of OIT.

Non Voting Board Members:

Kate GreenbergJordan BeezelyColorado Department of Agriculture (CDA)
Commissioner Katy AnthesDeLilah CollinsColorado Department of Education (CDE)
Carrie PaykocStephanie BennettOffice of eHealth Innovation (OeHI)
Katherine KeeganOffice of the Future of Work (OFOW) in the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment (CDLE)
Kathryn RedHorseJennifer LewisColorado Commission of Indian Affairs (CCIA)
Andy FrohardtColorado Office of the Attorney General (COAG)



Contact the Broadband Advisory Board by filling out this Contact Form or by emailing If you are commenting on an upcoming agenda item, please use the Agenda Item Comment Form.

To receive Broadband Advisory Board updates, sign up for the Colorado Broadband Office newsletter by entering your email address below.

Stay Connected during COVID-19: Broadband Resources and Updates